Cothill Educational Trust

A registered charity no: 309639 consisting of 8 schools located in the UK and Southern France
Established in 1969


One Board of Trustees governs all eight schools and provides support and expertise in the encouragement of all that is special and particular to each.

The formal role of the Trustees includes:

  • Setting the strategy of the Trust and its schools;
  • Setting and reviewing policies, plans and procedures;
  • Ensuring such policies, plans and procedures are designed to offer the best possible education for present and future pupils;
  • Proper control of the Trust’s finances;
  • Ensuring compliance with regulation and the law;
  • Supporting the Heads and senior staff so that the strategic aims can be delivered effectively.

Click on any of our Trustees' names below to read their biography...

Dr Ralph Townsend (Chairman)
Dr Ralph Townsend is the former Headmaster of Winchester College. Over the years he has been a Governor of many prep schools and is currently a Trustee of The Education Fellowship, a group of primary and secondary academies. He is also adviser to school projects in Armenia, China, Russia, Slovakia and South Africa.
Etienne Bottari Esq.
Photograph and information to follow shortly.
Peter Cook Esq.
Career in international logistics, specialising in chemicals. Broad knowledge of commercial practice, including construction. Long term involvement in several charitable institutions including specific trusts and listed church restoration. Voluntary service in the Lieutenancy and the Shrievalty. Based in rural North East England. Formerly parent governor at Mowden Hall prior to becoming a Trustee of the Cothill Trust in 2007.
Mrs Denise Le Gal
Denise Le Gal was Chairman of Governors at Barfield School until it merged with the Cothill Educational Trust in summer 2016. She was subsequently appointed to CET as the Barfield link. Denise is a Surrey County Councillor and Cabinet Member for Business Services representing Farnham North. Denise is also Chairman of the Surrey Pension Fund, a £3bn fund which is currently pooling with twelve other local government funds to form a £40bn pool. In another capacity, Denise is a Trustee Director of the JP Morgan UK Retirement Plan. Originally from Canada, Denise has a BA from Carleton University. She left Canada in 1985 to complete an MBA at INSEAD and subsequently pursued a career in banking at Salomon Brothers and Chase Manhattan.
Justin Marking, Esq.
Justin has spent his entire career in the property industry; after the Royal Agricultural College and the Investment Department of the Prudential, Justin joined Savills in 1986, since when he has specialised in country house and estate sales throughout the UK. He has also spent time in Savills office in Paris. He formed Prime Purchase, Savills independent buying subsidiary in 2002, and in 2009 was asked to head up Savills UK Residential business. Justin is based in London and oversees Savills network of over 90 residential offices in the UK. Justin lives in both London and Wiltshire with his wife and three children.
David Miles Esq.
Photograph and information to follow shortly.
Mrs Katie Pryce
Photograph and information to follow shortly.
The Hon. Nigel Turner
Educated at Heatherdown, Rugby and Oxford. Married with five children and twelve grandchildren. Merchant Banker, businessman and farmer whose three daughters attended Kitebrook. Lives in Suffolk and near Sauveterre.

Click on any of the names below to read their biography...

The Rt. Hon Lord Wakeham D.L. (President)
Former leader of the House of Lords. Chairman of the Trust from 1998 to 2010 and currently President of the Trust.
Eddy Newton Esq. (Principal)
Eddy completed his secondary education at Stonyhurst College, Lancashire after which he read Classics at Jesus College, Cambridge, completing a BA (Cambridge), PGCE. He started his teaching career at The Hall, Hampstead. In 1989 he became Head of Classics at the Dragon School, Oxford, this was followed by a Deputy Head/Director of Studies position at Pinewood School, near Swindon in 1996. In 1998, he took up a Director of Studies and Head of Boarding post at Highfield School, Liphook. Eddy was appointed Headmaster of Felsted Preparatory School, Essex in 2001 and this was followed by his appointment as Head of Chafyn Grove in 2004 leading onto his appointment as Principal of the Trust in September 2015. He is married to Alison, a graphic designer and marketing manager, with two children, Thomas and Katie.
Tim Verdon, Esq. (Company Secretary, Clerk to the Trustees & Trust Bursar)
A qualified Chartered Surveyor trained at the Royal Agricultural College. Tim has worked as Bursar in several schools before joining CET in 2011. He has a wealth of experience in the maintenance and repair of listed buildings in addition to his financial management of schools. Tim is married to a teacher and has three children of school age.

A list of our Trustees and Senior Leadership Team is available for download below: